top of page

One Sheet Wonders

For our May Creation Club I have decided to create some One Sheet Wonders, as they will be getting their Playful Palette Designer Series Paper (DSP) this month.

What is a one sheet wonder? Basically you take a piece of DSP and you cut it up into a number of different shapes to then use to decorate your cards.

If you go onto Pinterest and search for one sheet wonder you will find many different ideas and templates. While preparing this blog I actually tried entering one sheet wonder playful palette and up popped a number of ideas using the exact DSP that I wanted.

I found my templates by entering in one sheet wonder 6 x 6 template, which gave me a number of different templates to try specifically for this DSP.

 

Ingredients

Let's start with what you need to make these particular one sheet wonder projects. First and foremost you need your DSP, you can of course use a different pattern from what I have used. If you are interested in this particular paper it is on sale as it is retiring from the current catalogue.

For this particular project I used:

You could use different DSP, or a different design within the same stack of pages, but remember that will probably mean you want to use different card stock.

 

How to get started

Firstly, I made myself a chocolate mug cake (in a bowl) while I was waiting for my computer to warm up. As far as I am concerned this is a very important step :D

Then once my computer warmed up I got onto Pinterest to search for an choose my template. There are usually a lot of different ones to try.

When entering the search parameters I entered in the size of my paper because there will also be templates for 12" x 12" DSP and A4 DSP which aren't useful.

I chose a template which is from this lovely blog site.

I cut out my DSP using my Stampin' Trimmer, and I stuck the DSP to the card stock as suggested in the template I chose.

Then it is time to add the greetings, and if you like some embellishments. That is what I used the Balloon Bouquet Punch for. I am always unsure how much to add, whether it is a less is more situation, you can of course add as many balloons as you like.

I added an extra bit of card stock behind one of the pieces of DSP to give this card some more colour.

I stamped the greeting on the piece of purple card stock first, in case I made an error, before sticking the piece of DSP and purple card stock to the card.

That way, if I smudged the greeting, I could turn the piece of purple over and stamp on the other side and no one will ever know I made a mistake.

With this card I used one of the skinny left over bits of DSP from the template. As DSP is double sided, you can flip it over to make a lovely accent.

Alternatively there is matching washi tape for this DSP, which is also retiring and therefore also currently on sale. You could use that in the same way that I have used the scrap of DSP.

The greeting on this card is actually on the inside of the card, I cut off 1.5cm from the front of the card before putting the DSP on. It is hard to represent the difference in a 2D medium.

For this card I put the greeting on a piece of purple card stock scrap.

I put the greeting straight onto the card base here, but I intentionally put it there so that if I smudged the greeting I could just put the DSP over it and pretend I meant it.

I used the other scrap of DSP left over from the template on this card at the bottom.

 

How to choose

Once you have chosen your one sheet wonder template, you then need to choose card stock and DSP that match. My initial attempt with this template didn't go as well because I didn't like the colours I eventually chose.

If you aren't confident with coordinating your colours with your DSP, then you could search for your DSP on Pinterest (in this case, enter Stampin' Up Playful Palette) and look at the colour combinations others have used. Even if they haven't made a one sheet wonder, but have made a different project instead, you could still choose a colour combination that you like and use that for your cards.

 

Make your own

You can also design your own DSP, I just decided to use four squares of 3" x 3" DSP to make four smaller cards.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page