top of page

Papaya card

I decided to try making a card using DSP as the base rather than card stock. I have seen many examples of this online. 

I put some Whisper White card stock on the inside to firm it up, and it also is easier to write on than printed paper.

Step 1 - make card base

The Tutti Frutti Designer Series Paper is 6" square, so I scored the card stock at 3" making a card that is 3" x 6".

Step 2 - cut card insides

As the card is 3" x 6", I cut thin Whisper White card stock to 2.5" x 5.5".

While you shouldn't stick your card together til you are finished, this is what the inserts look like.

Step 3 - punch out a circle 

I used a 2 inch circle punch to punch a circle of Whisper White and to punch a circle out of the DSP. 

Step 4 - stamp a basket

The Fruit Basket Photopolymer stamp set uses alot of two step stamping. I stamped off the base first, which means I stamped some scrap paper first so the solid stamp was paler.

Step 5 - cut out a mask

I used scissors and cut out the stamped off image. When I was finished with this card I saved the mask in the stamp set to use in future.

This means when you stamp the fruit in the basket it won't show below the rim.

Step 6 - stamp the pears

I used Peekaboo Peach and Tangerine Tango which cordinate with this card stock.

I stamped first with Peekaboo Peach as it is the paler colour.

Then I did the Tangerine Tango ink. I did two pears stamped off, that is I stamped a piece of scrap first to get some paler ink.

Then I stamped a full colour pear.

Then I stamped the stalks in soft suede.

Step 7 - stamp the citrus

I used Daffodil Delight, Peekaboo Peach and Tangerine Tango ink to stamp the citrus, and Soft Suede for the greeting.

To get the greeting that way, ink half of the greeting, stamp, clean the stamp, and ink the other half and stamp.

I did some stamping off, and other citrus I didn't stamp off.

Step 8 - circle accent

Cut the circle of DSP in half.

Use some liquid glue on the two halves.

Put the stamped image on the glued halves.

Turn the whole thing upside down so you can shuffle the halves and see if they line up.

Step 10 - stick your card together 

Now that you have all your pieces you can stick your card together.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page