top of page

Catalogue Launch Party make at home kit

I have been putting together the mail kits for my ladies who are joining in my online catalogue launch party on Thursday 1 June 2017 at 6:30pm. If you still want to join visit my Facebook page by clicking on this link and join up.

I mailed out these make at home card kits to those ladies who rsvp'd a week ahead of time. I wanted to include here how I made all their pieces in case anyone wanted to replicate the process.

The daisies

The daisies were coloured in with the aqua painter. I squeezed the ink pad until there was ink in the lid, and then put a couple of drops of water from the aqua painter into the lid, and then used the aqua painter to pick up the ink and paint. The best thing about this was there was no need to paint between the lines. The hardest part is waiting for the flowers to dry.

The trick with the stamps and coordinating punches is to stamp the image first and then punch, don't punch out your card stock and then try to line up the stamp. Also when you use the punch use it upside down, like shown in the image below.

The roses

Both the roses and the small Happy Birthday greeting were done using the 'two step' stamping method.

Step 1

The first step for the roses was to place the more solid rose on its clear block and ink it up.

Notice that the little arrow in the stamp is pointing to the side of the block, so I can line up with I am doing in Step 2.

For the rose I wanted less ink for Step 1, this is called stamping off. So I stamped the image on some scrap paper and then without re-inking I stamped the image on my card stock.

Now I have a faint solid rose.

Step 2

Now I take the second image, the rose outline, and place it on my clear block with the arrow pointing to the same side.

I ink up the stamp and without stamping off I stamp the image over the top of Step 1.

When I made the small Happy Birthday greeting I didn't have to 'stamp off' as I was using different coloured inks and the two stamps don't overlap. If you look at the image of the stamp set I am using before, all these stamps are separate stamps (the roses, daisies, smaller greetings and the border) but they are made to go together in this two step stamping method.

One of the roses on your big Happy Birthday greeting is made using two different coloured inks, Powder Pink and Fresh Fig, so again I didn't have to 'stamp off' as Fresh Fig is a darker ink but this is still 'two step stamping'.

What's in your pack?

In your envelope you will find:

Three card bases

You get three card bases that are half of an A4 sheet of card stock, so roughly 4 x 6 inches once folded. They are made using Stampin' Up!'s thick Whisper White card stock, the new Berry Burst colour from the 2017-2019 In Color range, and a second piece of thick Whisper White card stock that I have put some background stamps on for you. The background stamps are from the Daisy Delight stamp set in the new catalogue.

Three pieces of Designer Series Paper (DSP)

You will get one piece of the Fresh Florals DSP in Lemon Lime Twist, one piece of Berry Burst, and one other 2017-2019 In Color piece (so Tranquil Tide, Powder pink or Fresh Fig). All of the pieces have been cut to 4 x 5.25 inches.

Remember that you can further cut up your DSP, there are tons of suggestions for how to cut it up if you look at one of my 'one sheet wonder' blog posts, or go onto Pinterest and type in One Sheet Wonder and see how other people have cut up their DSP.

Three coloured daisies

The daisies have been aqua painted (see above) and cut out using the Daisy Punch and are in Powder Pink, Berry Blast and Fresh Fig. You can stack them together for a dimensional look or use them separately.

Two white daisies and the cut out

Again you can stack your daisies or use them separately, but don't forget that you can also use the cut out over some coloured card stock or DSP if you like.

Three greetings

You get two greetings from the Happy Birthday Gorgeous Set and one greeting from the Daisy Delight set. I have a punch that cut out the small happy birthday greeting, but as you can see it is all straight lines so if you decided to purchase the set you wouldn't necessarily have to buy the punch also.

Six balloons

The balloons are stamped using the Happy Birthday Gorgeous set and the Balloon Bouquet Punch, and the colours are Berry Burst, Lemon Lime Twist and Tranquil Tide.

A postcard about my Creation Club

Lastly you will get a postcard telling you about my new Creation Club starting in June, and a business card with further information about me and my little business.

How do I put them together?

I decided not to give instructions about putting the cards together this time, but rather to see what creative things you all come up with. I will post some more ideas in the event in coming days in case you would prefer some guidance, but it is up to you if you want to copy one of my ideas or design your own. A couple of tips to help you on your way:

  • I haven't given you all these 'ingredients' intending that you would use them all on the three cards, you could, but you don't have to

  • The DSP can be cut into smaller pieces, say diagonally, or trimmed into a bit of a patchwork quilt

  • There are tons of ideas online, particularly once you know the name of the products you are using (which is why I have given them to you above) so if you want inspiration type into Pinterest search the name of the product that I used to make whatever part you particularly like and 'Stampin Up' and see what other people have done

Lastly I will be awarding 50 party points to my favourite card, and 10 points per card contributed (up to three cards) so long as they are photographed individually. I will also have a small gift for the 'party favourite' (that is I am going to invite the other ladies to vote and send a gift to the winner) so if you want to give your cards away be my guest but take a photo of them with your phone first! Also, in order to qualify for points or prizes you need to only use what I have sent you, adhesive and scissors. The challenge is to see how many different ideas 20 ladies can come up with using the same ingredients.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me through my Facebook page or by email on janis.creationcraft@gmail.com


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page