top of page

Pop Up Card

I decided to try some more pop up cards, after a customer recently reminded me how effective they are.

I was imitating this image I saw online, but there were no measurements or instructions. You can have a look at the original website though by clicking on the image.

I had to figure out the measurements myself, so I thought I would give you the measurements I used and some step by step instructions.

Step 1 - cut your card stock

Cut an A4 sheet of cardstock in half, this will be your card base. I used Berry Burst card stock.

Then cut a 14cm by 14cm piece of card stock. I used Fresh Fig.

Step 2 - score your card stock

Score the 14cm square piece at 7cm in both directions, creating four squares.

Now score the card diagonally. Once you have lined it up, hold the card stock with your left hand and score with your right.

Step 3 - fold

Now fold your card stock along the score lines. You have to fold the diagonal score the opposite direction to the square scores.

Step 4 - Attach DSP to card base

Choose some designer series paper into 10cm x 14cm rectangles for your card base, I am using Fresh Florals in the Berry Burst colour. I trimmed a 10cm strip, then two 14 cm strips from that, and then stuck them to the card base using liquid glue.

Now cut two 6cm x 6cm squares for the insert, and cut them diagonally. Our DSP is of course double sided, so I get the different print by flipping two of them over.

Step 5 - attach greeting to insert

I cut two 6.5cm squares of Whisper White card stock for the greeting part of the insert.

In order to get my Stylized Birthday greeting to fit properly I inked up the stamp, then put it on the table upside down, and then pressed the card stock on top of it. Initially I pressed it with my hand and some newspaper but that resulted in the edges of the image showing. So then I tried pressing it with the case that the stamp comes in, and that was a far more effective method.

Then I stamped some flowers on the greeting square before sticking it down. I used the 2017 In Colours for the ink the greeting and the flowers, so Powder Pink, Berry Burst and Fresh Fig. I am using the Daisy Delight stamp set for the flowers.

Step 6 - attach insert to card

Usually I am a big fan of the Tombo liquid glue, but this is definitely a step that requires double sided tape, and a generous amount.

Fold up your insert and apply your tape. Stick down one side of the insert and then peel the backing off the tape on the other side. Now, in order to make sure your card opens and closes properly, stick the other side down by closing the card.

You have now completed your pop up card.

I did some other things to this card too but I will cover that in a separate post, I don't want this post becoming too long and therefore too cumbersome to download.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page