top of page

Birthday Banners Stamp Set for Creation Club

The Vertical Greetings Creation Club is getting their Birthday Banners stamp set this month, and I must say initially I was not planning on getting one for myself. Now that I have played around with it for the purpose of designing this month's cards, I am definitely getting one for myself.

I was surprised by how versatile it was, and I also thoroughly enjoyed making different coloured balloons for my Balloon Boquet Punch.

I made these cards using the Birthday Banners stamp set which is $30. There is a coordinating framelits die, Bunch Of Banners Framelits Dies for $45, but actually I don't own that particular die and I just cut out the greetings using a pair of scissors which was not difficult.

Three of the cards used the Balloon Bouquet Punch which is $31, though actually for two of them I could have avoided using the punch by simply stamping the paler colour (Peekaboo Peach) first and then the middle colour (Flirty Flamingo) and then the darkest colour (Emerald Envy).

Making the long candle

Remember that photopolymer stamps are see through. I just lined up the little candle three times to get the long candle. In the picture the black thing is a black Stampin' Pierce Mat, the one currently sold by Stampin' Up! is grey. It is good to have a stampin pierce mat, or a piece of firm foam, under your card stock when you use photopolymer stamps.

Don't look at the joins too closely, once you put the card together no one will notice. If you look at the picture above of the candle you can see the joins, but by the time I cut it out and added it to the card you don't see it do you?

Bending your greetings

Some of the greetings are bent for certain banners, like in the image above all three of those stamps are bent to fit into the banner. Make sure that you have the banner the right way up when you are trying to put the greeting inside, or it won't work, the banners aren't mirror images of themselves.

Some of the greetings are straight, like the Happy Birthday greetings, so if you want to put them in the banner you have to bend them. If you want a bent greeting to be straight, like I did when I made the eat all the cake background above, then you can bend the photo polymer for that too.

If you are bending or straightening your photo polymer then remember, before you stamp, you can line it up to what you want to stamp and check if you have it correctly shaped.

It is difficult to see in the picture what the words say as they are clear, but you get the general idea (which is to line up your greeting and check it is the right shape before inking your stamp).

The Happy Birthday greeting bent nicely for the banners. If you look at the photo below for the card on the left I bent it to fit the banner, for the card on the right I left it straight.

This month's Creation Club

My club is pretty amazing, they usually end up creating a new design of their own and outdoing me, but they will be sent the necessary ingredients (if they don't already own them) to make these cards this month. Of course because of the way the club works, they already possess a number of ingredients. This month they will get:

  • Birthday Banners photopolymer stamp set

  • Two Whisper White, two Emerald Envy and two Sweet Sugarplum card bases

  • Some Whisper White card stock for stamping greetings and images on

If you are interested in being part of one of my Creation Clubs please let me know, I will soon be starting a club based around the Stampin' Trimmer and some of the more 3D or 'tricky' projects, rather than just basic card bases.

If you want to know what Creation Club is, then click on this link.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page