top of page

Creation Club - One Sheet Wonder

This month the Daisy Delight Creation Club are getting their DSP, so I thought a one sheet wonder was appropriate.

As last month's design was based on Lemon Lime Twist and Tranquil Tide colours, I thought I should do some designs with the pinks this month. If you need a reminder of what July's designs looked like then click here.

I didn't like everything I ended up with, but I am sharing it so you don't make the same mistakes I did.

One sheet wonders

If you are on my mailing list you know I love my one sheet wonders. There are many many templates on Pinterest, you just type one sheet wonder into your search. If you like you can type in the size of the paper you are using. The most common options are 12" x 12", A4 and 6" x 6" and if you have already selected your DSP you might like to narrow your search to that size.

I used this one sheet wonder, which I found on Pinterest. It was really very simple, just cut your paper into 4 inch strips, and then further cut each strip at 5.25 inches, then 1.75 inches, then 2 inches then 3 inches (5.25 + 1.75 + 2 + 3 = 12 inches).

You could do one sheet, I decided to do three different colours. Remember that regardless with Stampin' Up!'s DSP because it is double sided you get at least two options regardless of how many sheets you choose.

Here are the options you get with the Fresh Florals DSP, which is what the Creation Club members are getting this month.

Stamping on DSP

The Tranquil Tide ink pad is quite dark and can be used to stamp a greeting on some of the Designer Series Paper, like Powder Pink DSP or Lemon Lime Twist. It seems it is not dark enough to clearly show the greeting on Berry Burst DSP.

Colour combinations

I love Tranquil Tide and Fresh Fig together, I like Tranquil Tide and Powder Pink together, I did not like Tranquil Tide and Berry Burst together. You of course may have a different opinion, but here are the examples so you can decide for yourself.

Don't stick it together until the end

Sometimes you start with an idea and change your mind part way along. With this card I really didn't like it, so I got a scrap of Tranquil Tide DSP and I still didn't like it, so I stamped the greeting on plain old white card stock and then I liked it. If I had stuck it together I wouldn't have been able to amend it.

I made this card using the 5.25 x 4 inch piece of Fresh Fig DSP, a thin piece of Tranquil Tide DSP that I sliced in two before putting under the greeting, and a 2 x 4 inch strip of paper for the greeting.

Don't overdo it

We normally ruin our cards because we do too much, not because there is not enough on the card. In this case (the card shown above) the plain white card stock looked much better than the Powder Pink for the greeting, in my humble opinion anyway.

You don't have to use the large piece on it's own

Part of the advantage of only doing six cards for this particular one sheet wonder is you have (on average) two pieces of DSP per card. I didn't do two per card, some had more, some had less, but you get the idea.

Remember you also don't have to use the large 5.25 x 4 inch piece on it's own, I didn't.

This is how I used my three big pieces, the card with Powder Pink DSP I stamped the greeting and then trimmed it above and below and flipped the pieces. I stamped first before trimming, so I could make sure that the greeting was in the middle by trimming it so that it was in the middle. The Berry Burst card I cut diagonally and then flipped the piece, as you can see in the photos below.

Additionally, as the paper is double sided when you trim it you can flip one piece over so that even though you are using one piece of 5.25 inch DSP you get two different patterns.

Pretend you meant it

I didn't stamp the greeting for this card as clean as I would have liked, so I intentionally overlapped the edge of the greeting with some DSP.

This card was made using the 1.75 and 2 inch wide pieces of Fresh Fig. I really love the two cards that used the Fresh Fig DSP and I think if I did this one sheet wonder again I would use the Fresh Fig DSP as it matches the Tranquil Tide so nicely.

Lastly, using the scraps

For my last card I put the scraps together, I might have done this a little differently if I were doing it again but I will share how I created it in case you want to do something like it, or improve upon what I have done.

What is Creation Club?

If you are reading this blog and thinking what is Creation Club, well the best way to answer that is for you to follow this link.

All the options

Just in case you wanted a good look at one of the cards and I haven't shared the whole image clearly, here are the six cards again.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page