top of page

Creation Club for September - Vertical Greetings

I really love the colours in this club, the 2016-2018 In Colors, I much prefer them to the 2017-2019 colours. This month my ladies are getting the fourth of the five ink pads, the Dapper Denim ink pad. They now have a good collection of colours to make some multi coloured cards, though the feedback so far is that the favourite card is the 'ombre' blue balloon card (which was super easy).

I will start with the instructions for that card first, so you can get warmed up.

 

Blue Ombre Card

Seeing as everyone was getting their Dapper Denim ink pad this month I wanted to try making something focusing on that ink pad. Using the balloon and greeting from the Birthday Banners set, some Whisper White card stock and one ink pad I think this created a fairly effective card.

This technique is known as stamping off, as in stamping off some ink. Basically you stamp multiple times without re-inking. This way you remove, or stamp off, some ink each time and so you get different colours from the same ink pad because you get darker and lighter images. This is particularly effective with a dark ink pad, like Dapper Denim or Emerald Envy, rather than one of the lighter ink pads.

To make this card I just stamped three times without re-inking, so the photo on the left is an example of one line of stamping off. Then I continued doing that, not necessarily in a line, as you can see on the right.

I then actually stamped on top of a couple of balloons so that there was a fourth colour, being two layers of ink. If you look close at the card I didn't get one exactly over the other, but it doesn't matter once the card is completed. Plus remember, no one looks at your card as close as you do :D

As usual I didn't trim my piece of paper till I had finished stamping, so I could figure out where to put the border. I am all about allowing room for error, if I trimmed it first and then made a mistake near an edge I would be disappointed I couldn't trim it off.

 

Candle Card

I thought this was a pretty nifty card, as you can give it to a child or an adult, a male or a female.

Make sure you stamp your greeting onto your card first, then if you make an error you can amend your card design so that the candles are higher or lower, then they will cover the first greeting and display your preferred second attempt. It is always best with your photopolymer stamps to use a Stampin' Pierce mat, as I am doing below, to get cleaner images.

I found it easiest to line the candles up to the opposite ends of my piece of card stock, so that I had two straight lines to work with, and then just flip one around when I trimmed them to stick on the card.

So when I was stamping the candles, the top piece (with the flames) ends up under the bottom piece, but as you will cut the card stock to stick it around the Happy Birthday Greeting that wasn't a big deal. I actually did a second stamp over the middle flame to try and give the flames some different colour, and this is easily done with the photopolymer stamps.

 

Vertical Greetings card

I am actually no good at ribbons, the rest of this card is easy it is the ribbon I find difficult.

I rarely bother with tying a bow, a knot looks good and a bow is so much harder.

What I did, after stamping my chosen tree image in Emerald Envy, was cut a piece of ribbon as long as the card as you can see bellow.

Then I tie the end of my cut piece of ribbon to the ribbon coming off of the end of your spool of ribbon. Then cut the ribbon to the correct length. This is shown in the photos below.

Now you have your ribbon embellishment, without needing to tie tiny bows.

 

What is Creation Club?

If you would like to know what Creation Club is, follow this link to read all about it.

You could also look at our projects from August by following this link.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page